Activate Your Advocacy Bootcamp

Spring 2022

Activate Your Advocacy Bootcamp ingnite national

Join IGNITE this spring and activate your advocacy!

Are you passionate about serving your community? Are you passionate about making a difference?

Activate Your Advocacy Bootcamp provides legislative training for young women nationally at no cost. Upon completion of the bootcamp, IGNITE will assist in matching you with an internship with a legislator in Summer/Fall 2022. We will provide the training, mentorship, and support that you will need to succeed before and during your internship.

IGNITE’s training will be virtual with some potential in-person opportunities. Please note that many of the internship opportunities will be in-person.

Spring 2022 Series Dates

Participants commit to the full series when they register.

  • Saturday, March 19, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Saturday, March 26, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Saturday, April 9, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Saturday, April 16, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Sunday, April 23, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Friday, April 29, 2022 (Virtual)

Sessions typically take place at the following times with the exception of the April 29th date, which is 3-5 pm PT/4-6 pm MT/5-7 pm CT/6-9pm ET)

  • 12 pm - 2 pm ET
  • 11 am - 1 pm CT
  • 10 am - 12 pm MT
  • 9 am - 11 am PT

For any questions regarding the registration process, you can read our FAQs below or reach out to Jocelyn Yow at Jocelyn@IGNITENational.org.

Register Today

IGNITE is for all cis and trans women, as well as non-binary people who are comfortable in a space that centers the experiences of young women.

Additional Details

Program eligibility

Activate Your Advocacy Bootcamp is available to any self-identifying women who are at least 18 years old. Women of color, LGBTQ+ women, and women with disabilities are encouraged to register. No prior work experience is required.

Registration Dates

  • December 20 - Registration opens
  • March 13 - Registration closes

Benefits of Participation

  • Learn the legislative and political process
  • Sharpen your written and oral communication skills 
  • Become a part of a network politically ambitious young people 
  • Position yourself for a Legislative Advocacy Internship including support with being matched with an Internship 
  • Gain mentorship as you launch your career in policy 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: WHAT IS THE INTERNSHIP?

A: IGNITE will assist you in securing an internship with your local legislator in Summer/Fall 2022, upon successfully completing the bootcamp training. We will provide the training, mentorship, and support that you will need to succeed before and during your internship.The internship is a three-month opportunity for women to gain entry-level experience in politics and government.The internships are part-time.

Q: WHEN DOES THE INTERNSHIP START?

A: Start dates will vary slightly but the internships will take place between June/August 2022. Interns must commit to attend training sessions and graduation day on the following days, in addition to their internships at the State House:

  • Saturday, March 19, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Saturday, March 26, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Sunday, March 27, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Saturday, April 9, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Sunday, April 10, 2022 (Virtual)
  • Friday, April 15, 2022 (Virtual)
Q: WHO CAN REGISTER?

A: Activate Your Advocacy Bootcamp & Internship program is available to self-identifying women who are at least 18 years old. Women of color, and LGBTQ+ women, and women with disabilities are encouraged to register. No prior work experience is required.

Q: DO I NEED TO BE A STUDENT TO REGISTER?

A: No, you do not need to be a current student to register, however you can register if you are a current student. 

Q: DO I NEED TO HAVE PRIOR WORK EXPERIENCE?

A: No, you do not need any prior work experience. In fact, our program is designed to serve participants who are in the early stages of building their skills and resume.

Q: DOES THE PROGRAM COST MONEY?

A: No! The program is offered free.

Q: IS THIS AN EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY?

A: No. This is an internship program that supports women who want to work in government and policy. The internship provides education, training, and mentorship to individuals who are simultaneously working as interns for elected officials.

Q: IS THE PROGRAM PROVIDED IN PERSON OR VIRTUALLY?

A: While most internships should be in-person, the bootcamp portion of this opportunity will be virtual with some potential in-person opportunities.